Posted in Best Find

Market Food – Taste Café is in it!

coverimage-Market-Food

The market scene in South Africa is busy exploding. The plethora of markets from which visitors can pick and choose are just amazing at the moment and the influence of markets on how people eat, drink and socialize is huge. When Jessica Cairns visited my stall at the Pretoria Boeremark about two years ago with this fabulous idea to do a book about the different markets and the food you can find on these markets, I was thrilled with idea and fell very privileged to be a contributor to Market Food South Africa. 

Taste Café and owner Willie Cloete is featured in Market Food  where I share a delicious recipe for Brinjals roasted with Garlic and Sumac and we would like to encourage all our clients, readers, supporters and friends to support this publication by ordering it, buying it or downloading it!

Click here for a link to a review of the book. Market Food is available from Exclusive Books, CNA and other independent bookstores. On-line stores such as Kalahari, Look, Take-a-lot and Red Pepper should also list the book shortly.

Author:

Welcome to my two Blogs, each representing the two great passions in my life: Food & Yoga. I started life out as a graphic designer and when I hit my 40's decide to study the culinary arts at Steyn's Culinary School in Pretoria. So as a chef I am a later bloomer. I sell gourmet street food, Paninis, Gourmet Bunny Chow, Bombay Frankies, Bobotie Meat Kebabs and Chai on markets in and around Pretoria. I also offer my services as a private chef or as a caterer. I am a part time yoga teacher with 17 years of doing yoga and 8 years of teaching yoga behind me. I teach Intergal Hatha Yoga and has small classes in Queenswood, Pretoria.

6 thoughts on “Market Food – Taste Café is in it!

    1. Hi Conor,

      Thank you very much, yes I am very proud. I made a career change at age 40, I am now 45, what I have achieved over the last 5 years has been hard work, but very satisfying! Now for the next chapter – opening up my deli and restaurant! 🙂

      Willie

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Forgive my naivety – what is sumac? This is the second time I have seen this word in as many minutes – how do I not know about this thing?

    Like

    1. Hi Dave,

      🙂 It’s a little sour berry from the Middle East and it is dried and finely grounded and used as a souring agent, spice or condiment in food. It’s delicious with brinjals, we fry all our onions with it and with fish it goes particularly well. Ask your spice shop, they should stock it. It goes also well with a type of Middle Eastern potato salad we make with olives and sumac.

      Liked by 1 person

At Taste Café we would like to hear what you have to say, go on leave us a message!

