Posted in Good Food, Recipe

Cider Drunken Duck and cooking for myself…

It is very rare that I get the opportunity these days to cook for myself, being a private chef means that over weekends I usually cook for others. This past weekend I had no jobs, decided to take a long weekend for a change, and decided to cook my favourite dish for myself and my partner and friends – Slow Roasted Duck in Apple Cider with Fondant Potato, Confit Garlic and Creamed Spinach.  Every element on the plate was what I like to cook for myself and the potatoes as well as the spinach and the herbs comes from my own garden, all harvested early Sunday morning before I started to prep the individual elements.

I am not going to give all the recipes here, only the recipe for the duck. However, the fondant potatoes was first browned in duck fat and then slow baked in the oven in chicken stock for an hour, resulting in a rich and deep flavour with a waxy texture. The garlic was confited in a separate dutch oven in the oven also in duck fat to give it a rich flavour – what I like about confit garlic is that it lose most of that pungent garlic flavour, all that remains via this process is an aroma of soft garlic. We were 6 people so I baked two ducks, one duck is enough to only feed 4 people, the recipe is per duck.

100_5007

Prep Time: 30 mins | Cook Time: 3 hours | Recipe: Intermediate | Serve: 4

For the Duck:

1 Whole Duck, cleaned and trimmed of excess fat

For the Marinade:

  • 1 tsp Whole Grain Dijon Mustard
  • 1 tsp Honey
  • 3 tsp Quince Jelly
  • 1 tsp Cumin Powder
  • 1 tsp Ground dried Bird’s Eye Chilies
  • 1 tsp Dried Mint
  • 1 tsp Dried Lime Zest
  • 1 tsp Ginger Powder
  • 1 tsp Garlic Powder
  • 1 tsp Dried Lemon grass
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1/2 tsp Black Pepper
  • 60ml Rice Wine Vinegar
  • 40ml Lime Juice
  • 30ml Dark Sesame Oil
  • 250ml Strong Chicken Stock
  • 340ml Apple Cider (I used Savanna)
  • 2 Large Onions

To make:

  1. The day before, mix all the ingredients together, except the chicken stock, apple cider and onion. Pour over and massage into the duck and allow to marinate overnight in the fridge.
  2. The next day, preheat oven to 160°C.
  3. Peel the onions. quarter them and place at the bottom of your dish. Rest the duck on top of the onions, pour over the marinade, add the chicken stock and the apple cider, cover and bake in the oven for ±3 hours. After the first 1 hour, open and turn the duck, cover and bake for another 90 minutes. During the last half hour, remove duck from the dish and put in a separate dish with none of the liquid, set the oven on grill at 200°C and slow grill the duck until it has an overall golden colour and the skin is crispy.
  4. While the duck is in the oven grilling away, remove the onions from the sauce, drain the excess fat of, return the sauce to the pan and reduce by about 30-40%. Enjoy with friends and an ice-cold cider!
Author:

Welcome to my two Blogs, each representing the two great passions in my life: Food & Yoga. I started life out as a graphic designer and when I hit my 40's decide to study the culinary arts at Steyn's Culinary School in Pretoria. So as a chef I am a later bloomer. I sell gourmet street food, Paninis, Gourmet Bunny Chow, Bombay Frankies, Bobotie Meat Kebabs and Chai on markets in and around Pretoria. I also offer my services as a private chef or as a caterer. I am a part time yoga teacher with 17 years of doing yoga and 8 years of teaching yoga behind me. I teach Intergal Hatha Yoga and has small classes in Queenswood, Pretoria.

2 thoughts on “Cider Drunken Duck and cooking for myself…

At Taste Café we would like to hear what you have to say, go on leave us a message!

