Posted in Good Food, Recipe

Glorious Gluten Free Mielie-Muffins

100_4985

Whenever I have to cater a brunch of breakfast for a client and there is a food allergy – usually gluten intolerance – I revert to my grandmother’s delicious and glorious gluten free mieliebread (cornbread for my overseas readers) recipe which I have converted into a muffin for individual handling. Not only is the recipe gluten free, but also suitable for vegetarians (replace the bacon bits with mushrooms) and mielliepap (polenta for my overseas readers) being a staple food for most South Africans, it spans the cultural divide beautifully and successfully as well.

My Helpful Hint: Make them the day before you need them, they need to sit and set before serving them, you can always reheat in the oven or microwave the next day. If you serve them freshly baked from the oven and hot, you’ll destroy the muffin by the time you have peeled away the paper encasing.

Prep Time: 20 mins | Cook Time: 35 mins | Recipe: Easy | Yield: 24 muffins

Ingredients:

  • 3 tins Creamed Sweetcorn
  • 270g Strong Cheddar Cheese
  • 190ml Milk
  • 190ml Cream
  • 6 Jumbo Eggs
  • 1Bunch of Chives, chopped
  • 10ml Salt
  • 2ml Black Pepper
  • 10ml Crushed Garlic
  • 20ml Baking Powder
  • 510g Mieliepap or Polenta

For the Frosting:

  • 230g Soft Cream Cheese
  • 2ml Smoked Parika
  • 250g Rindless Bacon – cut into bits and fried until crispy

 Method:

  • Preheat oven to 180°C and spray 24 large paper cups with Cook ‘n Spray.
  • In a large bowl, mix together all the ingredients except the mieliepap/polenta.
  • Once well mixed, add the mieliepap/polenta and mix well.
  • Pour 125g of batter in each paper cup and set into a large muffin tin.
  • Bake for 35 minutes until golden and brown, allow to cool a while, remove from the tins and allow to cool completely before serving.
  • Allow the cream cheese to reach room temperature, when soft add the paprika and mix well. Transfer to a piping bag and pipe a swirl on each muffin and sprinkle with crispy fried bacon bits.
Author:

Welcome to my two Blogs, each representing the two great passions in my life: Food & Yoga. I started life out as a graphic designer and when I hit my 40's decide to study the culinary arts at Steyn's Culinary School in Pretoria. So as a chef I am a later bloomer. I sell gourmet street food, Paninis, Gourmet Bunny Chow, Bombay Frankies, Bobotie Meat Kebabs and Chai on markets in and around Pretoria. I also offer my services as a private chef or as a caterer. I am a part time yoga teacher with 17 years of doing yoga and 8 years of teaching yoga behind me. I teach Intergal Hatha Yoga and has small classes in Queenswood, Pretoria.

At Taste Café we would like to hear what you have to say, go on leave us a message!

