Posted in Recipe

Beef Short Rib braised in Stout

taste blog beef rib

I don’t know what it is about a Stout or Guinness, but that dark gloomy bottom with that beautiful pearl-like head is just so irresistible and it makes a great braising liquid for beef I have discovered a year or so ago. Since then I have experimented many times with this recipe and this is finally the end result with which I am sure many of you will be happy. We are nearing the end of winter in SA, but there is still enough chill to the air to cook it before spring arrive. And for my many European readers, safe this one for winter it is so comforting and it feeds not only the body, but the soul as well.

As per usual, please ensure that you use good ingredients, try to get the best beef you can, fresh beans and fresh garlic. I was very fortunate to have an excellent yield of garlic this season. I have added the garlic cloves whole with skins and all, the skins were so soft after lifting them from the ground that I felt I want to add the whole piece of garlic into the pot and it was worthwhile. Fresh garlic is not as pungent as older garlic, the aromas are still soft and well-rounded so you can add a little more, if you use older store-bought garlic you can use less. I served it with a side of baked butternut and a fresh loaf of home-baked bread, it was a feast!

You’ll need:

  • 1.5-2kg of Beef Short Rib
  • 40ml Olive Oil (or more)
  • 340ml Castle Stout (in SA it is one bottle)
  • One large Onion
  • 10 Garlic Cloves (half if you use bought ones)
  • 400g Fresh Beans
  • 1 Can Butter Beans
  • 130g Tomato Purèe
  • Sprig Rosemary
  • 1 tsp Smoked Paprika
  • 1 tsp Paprika
  • 1 tsp Fine Cumin
  • 1 tsp Fine Ginger
  • 1 tsp Mixed Spice
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • ¼ tsp Coarse Black Pepper
  • ¼ tsp Nutmeg
  • 1½ tsp Soft Brown Sugar
  • 2 Star Anis
  • 1 Stick Cinnamon

To make:

  1. Pre-heat oven to 150°C.
  2. In a large Dutch Oven, brown the meat over high heat in the olive oil, remove and set aside. Fry the onions and garlic in the olive oil until soft over a low heat. Once soft add all your spices and fry for 30 seconds, be careful not to burn the spices. Add the can of Stout, the meat, sugar, tomato purèe, rosemary and the beans. Remove from the hob and put the lid on and bake in oven for 2-3 hours until meat is soft and the liquids have reduced.
  3. I like to serve it with a hefty Pinotage.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author:

Welcome to my two Blogs, each representing the two great passions in my life: Food & Yoga. I started life out as a graphic designer and when I hit my 40's decide to study the culinary arts at Steyn's Culinary School in Pretoria. So as a chef I am a later bloomer. I sell gourmet street food, Paninis, Gourmet Bunny Chow, Bombay Frankies, Bobotie Meat Kebabs and Chai on markets in and around Pretoria. I also offer my services as a private chef or as a caterer. I am a part time yoga teacher with 17 years of doing yoga and 8 years of teaching yoga behind me. I teach Intergal Hatha Yoga and has small classes in Queenswood, Pretoria.

2 thoughts on “Beef Short Rib braised in Stout

At Taste Café we would like to hear what you have to say, go on leave us a message!

