Posted in Good Food, How To, Recipe

Glorious Butternut Quiche

In know there are millions of Butternut Quiche recipes out there and that you will want to know what makes mine special? Short answer is nothing, except that I have tried and tested mine a hundred times over and over and it is every time a huge success – it is fail (and fool) proof for those who are not that efficient in the kitchen. Making my own short crust pastry is highly satisfying and the love and attention that goes into making this quiche is most probably what makes it special for me and my family.

Whenever I am swamped with work – catering jobs and markets – I make a quiche or two that I stuck in the refrigerator and my family can cut slices off as they want to for either breakfast, lunch or dinner! It usually don’t last that long so I make two or three different ones, but decided to feature my butternut quiche as it is the most popular in my household. I like to serve it with a balsamic reduction and some pan-seared rosa tomatoes as in the picture. Another hint from my side don’t skimp on the butternut and Danish feta, I hate it when you order a Butternut quiche and you have to send out a search party for the butternut and feta! I make mine in a 26cm pastry pan, it is a large quiche and you will get at least 10 good slices out of it, depending on how hungry or greedy certain members of your family are. I also know that a quiche is made with loads of cream, but this is a healthier version made with low-fat milk – it taste just as good!

For the Pastry:

  • 300g All purpose flour
  • 140g Soft but cold unsalted butter
  • 1 Egg
  • 5ml Salt
  • A glass of ice water
  • A bowl of ice water

For the Quiche:

  • 350g Butternut – large dices
  • 250g Danish Feta (or more)
  • 1 Large Red Onion, thinly sliced
  • 6 Garlic cloves
  • 5ml Caraway seeds
  • 40ml Olive Oil
  • 3ml Coarse black pepper
  • 4-6 Sprigs of fresh rosemary – finely shopped
  • 4 Large eggs
  • 375ml Milk

Method:

For the Pastry: Place the flour, salt and butter in a large bowl. Next to it have a bowl of ice water as well. My hands are very warm so I like to cool them down occasionally in the water when I do this. Combined the flour and butter until they resemble fine breadcrumbs. Now add the egg and about a tablespoon of cold water and start to combine everything with a pastry knife or your hands, adding more water as you go on. I find that about three tablespoons of water will always do the trick, more than that and the pastry becomes dough-like. Don’t over work the pastry as you will develop the gluten too much, resulting in a difficult pastry to work with. Once combined, wrap in plastic and allow to rest in the fridge for at least an hour, I like to rest mine for 24-hours. Once rested, roll out to a thickness of 3-4mm, place in your pan and blind bake for 15 minutes at 170°C. Remember to prick the base with a fork!

For the Butternut filling: Once the pastry case is baked and ready, bake the diced butternut and garlic in a 180°C oven for about 20-25 minutes – it must be soft but still very firm if you stick a knife in it. Once baked and cooled, break the Danish feta into large chunks, peel and chop the baked garlic and add the rest of the ingredient except the eggs and milk. Mix all the ingredients together now and fill your pastry case.

The custard: Whisk together the milk and eggs and pour it over the butternut mix in your pastry until it is about 5mm under the edge of your pastry. Bake in the oven at 180°C for about 40-45 minutes and serve immediately or allow to cool, cover and store in the fridge.

Other favourite combinations are: Brie, Biltong and Sundried Tomato or try Fennel, Smoked Haddock and Edam and another popular one in my house is the Smoked Chicken, Basil Pesto and Smoked Mozzarella quiche! The combinations are endless and you can be as creative as you like to be!

Author:

Welcome to my two Blogs, each representing the two great passions in my life: Food & Yoga. I started life out as a graphic designer and when I hit my 40's decide to study the culinary arts at Steyn's Culinary School in Pretoria. So as a chef I am a later bloomer. I sell gourmet street food, Paninis, Gourmet Bunny Chow, Bombay Frankies, Bobotie Meat Kebabs and Chai on markets in and around Pretoria. I also offer my services as a private chef or as a caterer. I am a part time yoga teacher with 17 years of doing yoga and 8 years of teaching yoga behind me. I teach Intergal Hatha Yoga and has small classes in Queenswood, Pretoria.

5 thoughts on “Glorious Butternut Quiche

  1. Nice one Willie. I love the confidence reflected in the opening paragraph. I will have to see if I can do one and if the family here are as enthused about mine as yours are about yours, if you know what I mean.
    Best,
    Conor

    Like

    1. Let me know how warm the reception was of the quiche! Your French Odyssey makes interesting reading as well in my house at the moment – I have learned with my trips to India not to even tell friends and family, the sopping lists are too long!

      Enjoy France,

      Willie

      Like

      1. Thanks Willie,
        Sadly, back from hols now and back to work. I have four more French Trip posts to release over the next month. It extends the holiday vibe for me…

        Like

At Taste Café we would like to hear what you have to say, go on leave us a message!

