Posted in Good Food, Recipe

Shortcut Asian Tuna & Shrimp Soup

I love winter and I adore a good bowl of well made soup, and usually I am more than patient and willing to do all the hard work in making a good stock as the basis of the soup and then to allow the soup to gently simmer away for 3-4 hours. However, when I am just too busy and over my head with work, I love making this under 20 minute Asian inspired and styled broth-soup and it is usually also dependent on me finding some fresh tuna at the Woolworths in Brooklyn. It is light, delicious and packs a lot of flavour, leaving you very satisfied and wanting a second bowl. For a cheaper version you can replace the tuna with a piece of smoked chicken and for a child friendly soup leave out the chillies.

Ingredients:

  • 300g shrimp, steamed (that;s about 4-5 shrimps per plate)
  • 4 x 80g Tuna steaks, lightly seasoned with salt and black pepper
  • 30ml peanut oil
  • A good handful of watercress leaves
  • 200g Enoki Mushrooms lightly fried in pan with a little oil
  • Toasted sesame seeds
  • Noodles of your choice

For broth:

  • 1.2L chicken stock (I use Knorr Stock Pot tubs, they’re magnificent, use two on 1.2L of water)
  • 10cm piece of lemongrass, crushed with a meat hammer
  • 1 Small chilli
  • 1 garlic glove crushed
  • 1 Thumb size piece of fresh ginger – finely sliced
  • 30ml light soya sauce
  • Juice of 2 limes (small) or 1 lemon
  • 2 Spring onions – julienned

Method:

  • In a large stock pot add all the ingredients for the broth – except the spring onions. Bring to the boil and simmer for about 5-10 minutes allowing all the flavours to infuse. Set aside.
  • In another pot, bring about 1.5L of water to the boil and add the noodles of your choice. Remove from heat and allow to sit in the  hot water while you prepare the rest of the meal.
  • In a steamer, steam shrimp, this will take less about a minute, remove from the steamer and set aside.
  • Heat a griddle or normal pan until smoking hot, add the peanut oil and sear the tuna steaks for about 30-40 seconds on each side, depending on the thickness of your steaks.

 To serve:

  • Place a spoonful of the noodles in the centre of your plate, sprinkle some of the shrimp around and place the piece of tuna on the noodles.
  • Add a good spoonful of the enoki mushrooms on top of each tuna steak, add a few julienned spring onions and sprinkle with some sesame seeds.
  • Add about 250ml of the broth to each plate and scatter some of the watercress around the plate.
  • Serve immediately as hot as you can.

I like to serve this as a light starter before a hearty main course or served as a main you may want to add a piece of bread, try sourdough with, it works beautifully. Enjoy and have fun with this recipe from Taste Café!

Author:

Welcome to my two Blogs, each representing the two great passions in my life: Food & Yoga. I started life out as a graphic designer and when I hit my 40's decide to study the culinary arts at Steyn's Culinary School in Pretoria. So as a chef I am a later bloomer. I sell gourmet street food, Paninis, Gourmet Bunny Chow, Bombay Frankies, Bobotie Meat Kebabs and Chai on markets in and around Pretoria. I also offer my services as a private chef or as a caterer. I am a part time yoga teacher with 17 years of doing yoga and 8 years of teaching yoga behind me. I teach Intergal Hatha Yoga and has small classes in Queenswood, Pretoria.

4 thoughts on “Shortcut Asian Tuna & Shrimp Soup

    1. Hi Anneke,

      Woolworths Brooklyn always have them, they have white and brown ones, I buy both and mix them, looks really attractive on the plate. Enjoy!
      Regards,
      Willie

      Like

    1. And I agree whole heartedly about the chillies, perhaps it will burn some of the nonsense out of the little brats! 😉

      Regards,

      Willie

      Like

At Taste Café we would like to hear what you have to say, go on leave us a message!

