Posted in Best Find, Good Food, Recipe

Dragon Fruit for the Year of the Dragon

I was born in the year of the dog, so I am not very well aligned to this dragon year. Anyway, decided the other day to literally eat my “dragons” that has been plaguing me so far this year when I saw these beautiful dragon fruits at my local fruit shop. I served them as part of a cheese course with a Dolce Latte Gorgonzola with a variety of other cheeses and fruits as well.

Some background about Dragon Fruit

Dragon fruit is a beautiful fruit grown in Southeast Asia, Mexico, Central and South America, and Israel and most of the fruit in South Africa comes from Israel. The plant is actually a type of cactus, and the fruit comes in three colors: two have pink skin, but with different colored flesh (one white, the other magenta), while another type is yellow with white flesh. Dragon fruit is low in calories and offers numerous nutrients, including Vitamin C, phosphorus, calcium, plus fiber and antioxidants. So go for it and eat your dragon fruit, it is good for you.  The fruit tastes wonderful! – sweet and crunchy, with a flavour that’s like a cross between kiwi and pear and it is extremely attractive.

My recipe for dragon fruit is simple and easy. Cut them with the skin on in quarters, stick them onto little bamboo forks or sticks, sprinkle liberally with a good vodka (I used Absolut Vanilla) and serve with a delicate Dolce Latte Gorgonzola as part of a cheese course. The sweet melon made such a wonderful contrasting accompaniment and it went well with the Fontal cheese that I served also as part of my cheese course.

Author:

Welcome to my two Blogs, each representing the two great passions in my life: Food & Yoga. I started life out as a graphic designer and when I hit my 40's decide to study the culinary arts at Steyn's Culinary School in Pretoria. So as a chef I am a later bloomer. I sell gourmet street food, Paninis, Gourmet Bunny Chow, Bombay Frankies, Bobotie Meat Kebabs and Chai on markets in and around Pretoria. I also offer my services as a private chef or as a caterer. I am a part time yoga teacher with 17 years of doing yoga and 8 years of teaching yoga behind me. I teach Intergal Hatha Yoga and has small classes in Queenswood, Pretoria.

At Taste Café we would like to hear what you have to say, go on leave us a message!

